Whoever said the people who don’t travel, never fully live their life was definitely right. Travelling is one of the best things in life {obviously after Pizza…. and chocolate (definitely Chocolate)}. Travelling broadens horizons and makes us see, what a small place we occupy in the big world.
To live in India is the best thing. Not only, I get to experience the new cultures but also with each different district, city and state, I get to learn something about my own country. Being a Punjabi means summer holidays at grandparents’ home, every year with a “pakka-pakka” family trip. From childhood, I had seen almost each city of Punjab and a little bit of Himachali hills. However, as I grew up, got a job, and moved to Chandigarh, things have been a little monotonous for a while. {To tell you guys truth, I am not much of an extensive traveller, though I want to be. Nevertheless, I have been to pretty awesome places and this series will be all about it. }
This Christmas, my whole extended family planned for the trip and you won’t believe how excited I got as I came to know where we were going. Trip was to “Nanded”. Located on the banks of Godavari river, Nanded is the second holiest site in Sikhism and it called city of Gurudwaras. As Nanded is in state of Maharashtra, that means I actually crossed the North India for first time and travelled to Western India.
Now travelling to Nanded is quite easy. You can either book a flight or book train or even bus in advance, however tricky part is the fact that all this planning and booking is to be done months in advance. Another characteristic of being a Punjabi is that we are utterly spontaneous, which means we started planning one week in advance, which led to us getting no bookings in flight, train and bus whatsoever. However, did it stop us? No Way!!!!
:)🙌🙌
My fabulous grandpa rented a sort of “Mini Bus” which could seat about 15 people in all. The “holy” trip (as my Nani Maa loves to say) was instantly transformed into a fun-filled family road trip and fun we did. From funny sleeping clicks to new sunrise and sunsets, every day was different.

image

